Yo! Happy new year! كل سنة و انتم طيبين I legit forgot I had a website...


So recently I've been working... or rather THINKING about working on a videogame of my own. I have no experience in that and don't even know how that process goes, so I don't know what my mind was going through. Anyway, the proposed game in my mind is a simple action RPG that is a shameless clone of Ragnarok Online with African themes slapped on it. Of course, I am one of many unfortunate souls who has such a long pre-production brainstorming process I end up not doing a damned thing from how crazily overambitious my ideas can be. Let's hope this isn't a repeat of that... (Update: it is). I really like Ragnarok Online and games like it because I wasted countless hours playing them as a kid totally shocking my parents who thought I was reading books or something useful like that. Also, looking at them now, they're kind of boring. Either nostalgia has given me blissful blindness or my mind is so battered by the stimulus of what I play today that I can't enjoy something unless it's flashy and fast paced enough to induce a seizure warning. Regardless, this isn't planned to be a super massive project that will drain out my soul, but something I can spend time on without feeling like I've aged a decade. And the african themes aren't exactly detailed depictions of history or anything, I just looked at cool images of Bamum and thought "I can do that" while I clearly cannot. To start, one must pick a game engine and I stuck with Godot because it takes little space. Unity is like what 2gb? fuck that. Godot is honestly an amazing tool. Even while still figuring out how it works it is super fluid and easy to understand. So far I have only worked on a pre-pre-pre-pre-pre alpha where you can... walk around. I havent't worked on it since but I'll keep you folks posted if I remember I have a damned website!!